Nelly Furtado Named As Living Legend at Native American Music Awards


Niagara Falls, NY The Winners for the 14th Annual Native American Music Awards were announced live on Fri. May 10, in the Events Center of the Seneca Niagara Hotel & Casino in Niagara Falls, NY.

Russell Means was inducted into the Hall of Fame and iconic Canadian singer Nelly Furtado was awarded the Living Legend Award.
Winners were selected by the combined votes of the Native American Music Awards  (N.A.M.A.) Advisory Board Membership Committee with an international general public voting membership.
General Public voting was open on the Awards website VOTE NOW page, where music tracks of all nominees were featured.Both new and established artists shared the list of winners throughout a diverse array of over 30 music categories spanning all genres.
Over 200 CD and DVD recordings submitted this year for nomination consideration. This years Awards celebration kept its promise to be unlike any before.See below for a complete list of official winners from the 14th Annual Native American Awards.
The Native American Music Awards & Association extends its sincerest congratulations to all the 2013 NAMA Award winners.

l-r Tony Duncan, Nelly Furtado, Radmilla Cody, Wayne Silas Jr
New York, NY On Friday, May 10 2013, the Native American Music Awards honored musicians from all across North America through a flawless ceremony that also featured special performances by Lynryd Skynyrds Rickey Medlocke and Nelly Furtado. Over 30 Awards were presented in a variety of different genres and categories that evening.  Winners were selected by the votes of the general public.
In a sold out show, the Native American Music Association held their 14th annual Awards gala at the Seneca Niagara Events Center in Niagara Falls, New York. This marked the sixth consecutive year that the Seneca Nation hosted the event. The event was hosted by comedian Don Kelly. The performance-packed night began with a prayer and a song for peace from NAMA award winner for Best Flute Recording, Joseph Firecrow. NAMA’s Best Female Artist, Fawn Wood, then performed a song which was followed by Edmund Bull and Big River Cree who would later win Debut Group of the Year.
The first presented award of the evening was Best Traditional Recording to the Akwesasne Women Singers for Tsionathonwisen”. Hoop dancer and flute player, Tony Duncan took the highly esteemed Artist of the Year award after performing solo and with his band Estun Bah that captured the capacity crowd. The  Artist of the Year Award went to Tony Duncan for Earth Warrior.  As a previous multiple nominee, this was Duncans first ever Native American Music Awards win. Radmilla Cody sang and played the hand drum to several tracks from her Record of the Year recording, Shi Keyah Songs For the People. She was also joined on one song by Tony Duncan playing the flute.

The next presented award was for Best Female Artist to Fawn Wood for Iskewewak: Songs of Indigenous Womanhood. This was followed by the award for Best Male Artist  to Wayne Silas Jr. for True Round Dance Songs.

Joanne Shenandoah and Rickey Medlocke paid tribute to actor, musician, and activist Russell Means and inducted him into the Native American Music Hall of Fame. Means widow, Pearl, gave a touching and somber acceptance speech. CC Murdock performed a musical tribute to Means Go Rest High on that Mountain featuring Dylan Jenet as a backing vocalist who just signed a new record deal with Stevie Wonder as her Executive Producer.
Indian E, aka CC Murdock, launched the second half of the show dresed in a black and white jumpsuit and performed a medley of Elvis Presley hits with several nominees as backing female vocalists.

Perennial favorite and NAMA regular Buddy Big Mountain was joined by his sidekicks Windel and Awesome Fox for some comedy and musical interludes.

Jana Mashonee who won Best Pop Recording for Stay with Me Baby was joined by an entourage of local hip hop dancers on stage and throughout the aisles during her high energy performance.

The next award was for Best Instrumental Recording to Lynyrd Skynryd guitarist and Blackfoot founder, Rickey Medlocke for his Homeland Nation Soundtrack. Medlock also won Best Long Form Video for the “Homeland Nation” documentary series.

The Best Rock Award was presented to Saving Damsels for Find My Way in which lead member JJ Otero gave an emotionally charged and humbling recipient speech.

In a surprise guest appearance, Grammy Award winner and 10 time Juno Award winning pop star, Nelly Furtado, treated the audience to acoustic versions of her songs, “All Good Things” and “Say It Right” which featured Tony Duncan on flute, a member of Big River Cree on pow wow drum and Wayne Silas Jr. on hand drum. Furtado was awarded a Living Legend Award for her support of Native American culture and featuring hoop dancer Tony Duncan at her major Awards and television appearances throughout the past year.

The winner of the Record of the Year was awarded to Radmilla Cody for Shi Keyah Songs for the People.

In the final performance of the evening, the fierce southern rock blues band, Blackfoot rocked the house with songs like “Train Train” and “Highway Song.” Founding member Rickey Medlocke joined the band for one number, a new single by the band entitled, “Whiskey Train.

The Executive Staff & Event Production team of the Native American Music Awards would like to thank the 2012 – 2013 Advisory Board members for submitting and selecting the nominees for the 14th Annual Native American Music Awards.

The Native American Music Association and its Advisory Board members would like to thank the general public for voting and selecting this year’s award winners!